How To Lift Without "Bulking Up"

Spoiler alert, it's not what you think.

This is usually the look people want ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

You should train like the bulky guys you don’t want to look like. That may sound ridiculous, but hear me out.

As a dude who has been lifting weights a minimum of 5 times per week for the last 11 years and personal training for 6 years, I’ve heard and seen just about every kind of person at the gym now.

Even guys who don’t want to be very muscular (There’s nothing wrong with that by the way).

I even once had a friend say to me, “I just want to build some muscle, but I don’t want to be as muscular as you are,” which made me nearly cry with joy. I gave him some advice on working out. I even wrote him a program.

Fast forward a few months… he looked exactly the same.

You know why? Because his initial goal was extremely misguided.

Saying “I don’t want to get too big” is like saying “I don’t want to play basketball too much because I might accidentally make it to the NBA.”

Being good enough to make it to the NBA is a matter of years of hard work, dedication, optimal training, and genetics.

So is being one of those “beefed up” guys you mentioned.

^For example, this woman had been training with everything she had to build muscle for OVER 2 YEARS.

Most people couldn’t become one of those beefed up guys if they tried.

Also, it takes a LOOOONG time to build a lot of muscle.

We’re talking years here. You’re not going to wake up one morning looking like Arnold Schwarzenegger.

So, my suggestion is this, train like a bodybuilder, weightlifter, powerlifter, or athlete, and work your ass off.

When you notice that you’ve achieved the physique you want, let off the gas a little. But, you may find that in the 1–2 years that it takes you to reach your goal, your goal might change.

Seeking impartial news? Meet 1440.

Every day, 3.5 million readers turn to 1440 for their factual news. We sift through 100+ sources to bring you a complete summary of politics, global events, business, and culture, all in a brief 5-minute email. Enjoy an impartial news experience.